Help deciphering data sheet, t6963c

Discuss PIC and electronic related things

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

hgboy

Help deciphering data sheet, t6963c

Post by hgboy » Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:25 pm

The datasheet for my display can be found here.

http://www.crystalfontz.com/products/12 ... sheet.html

it is a crystalfontz 128x64 with a toshiba controller. I have it interfaced with a pic18f4550. The data pins are all allocated to port b, with the control lines on port d7, d6, d5, d4, and port c7. I have the backlight and contrast control connected correctly, I just have no idea where to go from here. As there is no library in sf for the t6963c yet, I guess that means I have to do everything by hand. Can anyone give me some sample code to get this lcd up and running, or point me to any useful information? The datasheet is hard for me to understand, as I have no experience with lcds, and not very much experience with the pic itself either.

octal

Post by octal » Thu Aug 14, 2008 10:42 pm

Hello hgboy,
I have a working Toshiba T6963 driver module for Swordfish. I worked on it some time ago (more than 3 months ago if I remember) when I had to test the new version of GLCD Font Creator (unicode support mainly). I tested it last days with a 240x128 glcd unit (I bought from MikroE shop, but any glcd should work) and it's working.

The module is not that clean. I have to add some Text stuff support and extract some variables as options.
The main pb (and very fine thing) with the Toshiba T6963 controller, is that it let you work with Text and graphics simultaniously and for text it let you also affect some attributes like blinking, set cursor visibility, ... the main pb is that it's limited to its 6x8 or 8x8 internal char generator.
For that I did not do a lot of stuff as my main concern was to create a compatible Swordfish Graphics driver to render SF fonts.
I got it to draw some stuff and render proportional fonts of Swordfish GLCD Lib.

Now the idea is to: