PIC to PIC communication requirments

Discuss PIC and electronic related things

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

liak

PIC to PIC communication requirments

Post by liak » Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:43 pm

Dear all,
I am striding into new areas in my project. :lol:
As my project expands, so is the requirement on the computational power. Now, there is real need for me to start thinking about using multiple PICs. But I have no experience in this.
I will need to divide tasks in between the different PICs, possibly transfering data from a master to slaves and synchronize the operation of multiple slaves by the master.
The other architecture that I can think of is to let the individual PICs to do their own tasks until complete and then synchronize their outputs. Can anyone show me some hints or basics on how to communicate between multiple PICs in the most efficient way?
Anyone can offer any experience or show me some sites with these information?

Regards,
Liak :wink:

richardb

Post by richardb » Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:42 am

out of interest what speed are you running your pic at?.
Hmmm..

liak

Post by liak » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:14 pm

Dear Richard,

Thanks for the reply.
The current single PIC runs at 20Mhz. I plan to chain a few of them together to run at at least this speed, and hoping to be able to transfer data or synchronize them at this speed.
Any particular reason that this is of interests?

Regards,
Liak

richardb

Post by richardb » Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:12 am

I apologise for not answering your question directly. but maybe you don’t need to go to the complexity of multiple pics when one would do. The one you are using will almost certainly run at 40MHz microchip already do some that run at 64Mhz, that maybe pin compatible(@3.3V) with the device you are using. This would be equivalent to 3 of your pics. Changing some of your algorithms may have an even bigger impact.

Getting back to what you asked originally.