Error: ' ASSIGN ' not found

Coding and general discussion relating to the compiler

Moderators: David Barker, Jerry Messina

Post Reply
User avatar
kanderson
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Error: ' ASSIGN ' not found

Post by kanderson » Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:12 pm

Hello,

I am getting some strange output when I run the compiler...

Normally, I get output from the compiler such as
Error[] <filename.bas> <line#> : <message>
or
Warning[] <filename.bas> <line#> : <message>
Hint[] <filename.bas> <line#> : <message>

but for the past couple of days, I've been seeing the following:
Hint[] <filename.bas> <line#> : Identifier 'x' is declared but never used
[Error](17554): ' ASSIGN ' not found
[Error](18208): ' ASSIGN ' not found

Note: it still gives me the Hint[] in the usual form
Is this an error from the compiler, the assembler or somewhere else?
I checked my .lst and .asm files on the line numbers shown and I couldn't see anything obviously wrong.

Note: compiler "Swordfish BASIC Compiler 2.2.1.8 (BETA B3) Copyright (c) 2011 Mecanique"

User avatar
kanderson
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:28 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Error: ' ASSIGN ' not found

Post by kanderson » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:53 pm

Well, I've found the offending code. But I don't understand why this happens...

Old "offending" line of code:
DrawSolara.drawMenuFooter("Msg History", ScreenLayout.Screen_08_ViewMessageHistory.UsesUpToGetBack)

New line of code that compiles just fine
DrawSolara.drawMenuFooter("Msg History", true)

Notes:
  • DrawSolara is a library that contains functions for drawing to a LCD display
  • ScreenLayout.Screen_08_ViewMessageHistory.UsesUpToGetBack is a const Boolean = true
perhaps my line of code overran some kind of buffer?

User avatar
David Barker
Swordfish Developer
Posts: 1214
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:01 pm
Location: Saltburn by the Sea, UK
Contact:

Re: Error: ' ASSIGN ' not found

Post by David Barker » Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:30 am

Without seeing all of your code I cannot say why you are getting the error. However, it looks like you have found a workaround.

Post Reply